
For more information or to register please visit: http://adsd.nv.gov/Programs/Physical/ComAccessSvc/Interpreter_Registry/Interpreter_Registry/ 

Sign language interpreters in Nevada 
must:

be 18 years or older, have a high 
school diploma or G.E.D., provide 

current photo, copy of current picture 
ID with birthdate, and sign and adhere 

to a Professional Code of Ethics 

Community

Apprentice

Can only work 
when teamed; 
can not work in 

legal or 
medical.

EIPA 3.5-3.9; or 
a DI in the 
process of 

becoming a 
CDI

75 hours of 
Professional 

Development 
and 40 hours 
of Mentoring

Skilled

May work in 
legal, medical, 

or 
postsecondary 

educational 
with due 
caution.

RID NIC or CI 
or CT; or 

EIPA 4.0 - 4.7 
and RID Ed: K-

12; or 

NAD level III

RID's CMP

Advanced

May work in 
legal, medical, 

or 
postsecondary 

educational 
with due 
caution.

RID NIC: 
Advanced, or 
CI and CT, or 

CSC or CDI; or 
EIPA 4.8 - 5.0 
and RID Ed: K-

12; or NAD 
Level IV

RID's CMP

Master

May work in 
legal,  medical, 

or 
postsecondary 

educational  
with due 
caution.

RID NIC: 
Master, or 

MCSC, or SC: L 
or CDI+; or

NAD level V

RID's CMP

Educational

Apprentice

Can only work 
in the grade 

level and 
modality 
assessed.

EIPA 3.0 and 
EIPA Written 

Test; or 

ESSE: I Level 3 
and EIPA 

Written Test

75 hours of 
Professional 

Development 
and 40 hours 
of Mentoring

Intermediate

Can only work 
in the grade 

level and 
modality 
assessed.

EIPA 3.1-3.9 
and EIPA 

Written Test; 
or ESSE: I Level 

4 and EIPA 
Written Test

75 hours of 
Professional 

Development 
and 40 hours 
of Mentoring

Advanced

Can work in 
any grade 

level; only in 
the modality 

assessed.

EIPA 4.0 - 5.0 
and EIPA 

Written Test;  
or ESSE: I Level 

5 and EIPA 
Written Test; 

or RID certified 
and EIPA 

Written Test

75 hours of 
Professional 

Development



Registration is required for: 

Sign language interpreters* 

Cued speech transliterators 

CART and realtime 

captioning providers 

In  

community  or  educational 

settings who 

provide services in the  

State of Nevada  

for more than 30 days  

in a calendar year. 

For more information, contact 

Jenn Montoya: 

(775) 434-0237 

(775) 431-0135 (Text only) 

InterpreterRegistry@adsd.nv.gov 

*An “interpreter” is any person who 

facilitates communication between 

persons who are deaf or whose  

hearing is impaired and other persons.  

 

                     (NRS 656A.030, 656A.060) 

Registered providers are responsible for: 

✓ Reporting employment 

information (for educational 

interpreters only) 

✓ Remaining current on their 

professional development plans 

and plans for mentoring (if 

required) 

✓ Updating their contact 

information with the Registry 

✓ Updating the Registry of changes 

in their assessment or certification 

status  

✓ Renewing their registration every 

3 years (for noncertified 

interpreters), or every 5 years (for 

certified interpreters) 

✓ Providing proof of registration 

Exceptions: 

Those who provide services only for: 

❖ Nonprofit civil or religious 

organizations, 

❖ An emergency medical situation, 

❖ Occasional social situations where 

a qualified provider is not required 

(according to the ADA or section 504 

of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973) 

❖ Broadcast (applies only to CART or 

realtime captioning providers) 

NRS 656A 

 

Nevada law on 
qualifications and 
registration for:  

Sign language interpreters  
and  

CART and realtime 
captioning providers 

 
 

Steve Sisolak, Governor 

Richard Whitley, Director 
 Department of Health 

 and Human Services 

Dena Schmidt, Administrator 
Aging and Disability  

Services Division 

 2019 

mailto:InterpreterRegistry@adsd.nv.gov

